• TALBOT CHAMBER HOLDS ANNUAL CHAIRMAN’S LUNCHEON Retired Chamber President Al Silverstein Recognized

    Retired Chamber President Al Silverstein Recognized
    EASTON, MD The Talbot County Chamber of Commerce held its annual membership meeting and chairman’s luncheon at the newly renovated Talbot Country Club on September 29, 2021. Chamber president Amy Kreiner recognized Deborah Walsworth of BSC Group, LLC for her leadership as chair of the chamber board of directors in 2020.
    Ms. Walsworth passed the gavel to John Horner of Easton Utilities, to serve as chairman of the board for 2021. Mr. Horner expressed his gratitude to Ms. Walsworth, stating that “Debbie demonstrated an engaging, intelligent and collegial leadership style during the early stages of the pandemic, navigating the board through a very turbulent time, which ensured the chamber would not only survive, but continue to thrive.”
    Mr. Horner recognized retiring board members Ed Heikes with Belle Aire Farms and Frank Gunsallus with Konsyl Pharmaceuticals, who each served two three-year terms, ending December 2020.
    New members joining the board for 2021 are: Dr. Cliff Coppersmith with Chesapeake College, Kristen Greenaway with Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, Arvin Singh with University of Maryland Shore Regional Health, Jaime Windon with LYON Rum Distilling, and as an ex-officio member Cassandra Vanhooser with Talbot County Economic Development & Tourism.
    Mr. Horner then recognized recently retired chamber president Al Silverstein, for his twenty years of dedication and outstanding service to the chamber membership and Talbot County community. To memorialize his service, Mr. Horner stated that the board of directors has created the Alan I. Silverstein First Responders Scholarship Fund. Upon accepting his award, Mr. Silverstein stated that he is, “honored by the recognition and hopes that it assists graduating Talbot County students seeking to enter the police, fire, and emergency medical services fields.”
    Maryland Department of Commerce Secretary Kelly Schulz, serving as keynote speaker for the event, praised the Talbot County business community for its strength and resiliency throughout the pandemic crisis. She stated that Governor Hogan’s Connect Maryland initiative aims to ensure universal broadband access to all areas of the state by 2025, with his investment of $100 million on top of the $300 million federal American Rescue Plan Act funding. “Equitable access to broadband is a necessary and vital component to the success of our business community and our schools,” stated Secretary Schulz.
    To view the video recording of the Chairman’s Luncheon, visit talbotchamber.org

    Pictured L to R: Reza Jafari, Chair-Elect, Chamber Board of Directors; Amy Kreiner, Chamber President/CEO; Maryland Department of Commerce Secretary Kelly Schulz; retired Chamber President/CEO Al Silverstein; John Horner, Chairman, Chamber Board of Directors; retired board member Frank Gunsallus; Senator Addie Eckardt; Delegate Johnny Mautz  

    Contact: Amy Kreiner

  • Upcoming Events